Why do we love US & UK accents so much?

UgoTalksAlot

This is my second in Why is it series, you can catch up on the earlier post here if you missed anyone.

I have a lot of questions about accent, especially how Nigerians treat people with accents. I’m not talking about a persons understanding and use of English, I am talking of a Yoruba persons ability to pronounce that word as HAH-BILI-TY all the while speaking proper English.

I’ve met a ton of people, including friends and family who have told me that wouldn’t even tolerate a friend if he pronounces ‘bread’ as ‘BREEAD,’ meanwhile they’re pronouncing ‘he’ as ‘E‘. I always ask why and I usually get responses from “why not” to “I just won’t” and asides the fact that I think this all is a little E-PO-CRITI-CAL, it’s just plain confusing to me.

Look at the media and the entertainment industry, a general perception is…

View original post 266 more words

3 thoughts on “Why do we love US & UK accents so much?”

    1. True. But cool is relative. However cool it might sound to some people, it really can be annoying when in a 2 minutes conversation you hear a mismatch of British, American and cockney

Leave a Reply

