The Family Portrait

Again Mudi you nailed this

Photo Credit: Bayo Omoboriowo Photo Credit: Bayo Omoboriowo

In between my conversation with Mary, whom Ruth had just introduced me to, I peered through the curtain and couldn’t help but notice the family seated outside, peeling cassava tubers, probably their means to an end. In no particular order, they each took turns to share stories, jokes or whatever it was that was responsible for the occasional hearty laughter that would follow. While both ladies in the room didn’t quite get why I was so carried away, this for me was another priceless moment, as captured by my ever wandering eyes. As I’d imagine, it didn’t really matter that this family sometimes had their not so beautiful moments, but right there and then, this very moment was a cocktail of blood, sweat, peace, love and laughter, that left me bewildered, but also with a sudden taste of the realization that I would give almost anything…

View original post 390 more words

Leave a Reply

